Skip to main content Skip to footer

Volunteer looking over Bata Podium at convocation



Trent University Alumni Council

The Trent University Alumni Council is a collective group representing alumni in the community and across the globe. Made up of 19 volunteers, Alumni Council acts as the governing body to the more than 48,000 alumni who make up the Trent University Alumni Assocation (TUAA). The goals of the Council are to initiate and support activities which will further the interests of Trent University, its students, and its alumni; and to foster a spirit of fellowship among alumni.

Alumni Council is comprised of:
• One President
• Four Vice-Presidents
     - Vice-President of Campus Communities
     - Vice-President of Council Organization
     - Vice-President of Engagement and Philanthropy
     - Vice-President of Communication and Member Services
• Ten Councillors
• One Council-Colleges Liaison
• One Senate Alumni Representative
• Three Student Representatives, including one representative from ACE (link)
• Ex-officio members including the Director of Alumni Affairs

Elected members of the Coucil are volunteers, with the Director of Alumni Affairs (an employee of the University, hired in association with the TUAA) serving as a non-voting, ex-officio executive member. Other members of Alumni Affairs staff serve as non-voting members.

The Council meets at least 5 times a year, usually in Peterborough or Durham, and hosts an Annual General Meeting (AGM) of the Association. All meetings are open to everyone in the Trent University Community and may be accessed via teleconference. 

We need your help! Committees are seeking more members with skills in: project management, event planning, communications, finance, and stewardship. Committee participation takes just four or five hours a month. To learn more and get involved, click here.


2018-19 TUAA Alumni Council Members

• Jess Grover, President

• Karen McQuade Smith, 
VP Campus Communities 

• Vacant
,  VP Council Organization

• Sebastian Cosgrove
, VP Communications and Member Services

• Maile Loweth Reeves, VP Engagement and Philanthropy

• Lee Hays, Director, Alumni Affairs 

• Ryan Sova, TSCA/ACE Representative 

• Steven Robertson, Councillor

• Athena Flak, Councillor

• Wei Lynn Eng, Councillor 

• Herb O'Heron, Councillor 

• Rae Gibeault, Councillor

• James Forrester, Councillor

• Dorcas Mensah, Councillor

• Karen Foster, Councillor

• Vacant, Councillor 

• Vacant, Councillor 

• Jessica Rogers, Council-Colleges Liason

• Danen Oberon, Senate Alumni Representative