Skip to main content Skip to footer




Alumni Student Leadership Awards


Alumni Student Leadership Prizes:

 Nominations are now open for 2019 Student Leadership Prizes.

Robert W.F. Stephenson Prize for students demonstrating excellence in student governance

The Robert W.F. Stephenson Prize was established by the Alumni Association on the occasion of Robert's completion of his term as Chair of Trent's Board of Governors. Mr. Stephenson was the first alumnus to hold the position of chair. Valued at $1000, the prize, which recognizes outstanding student leaders, was first awarded in 1995. The Award for Excellence in Student Governance underscores the alumni Association's high regard for student leadership contribution to the overall mission of Trent University. 2019 Stephenson Nomination form. 


David Glassco Prize for students demonstrating outstanding generosity of spirit in a range of activities, including music, athletics, or theatre, in the Trent and Peterborough communities

The David Glassco Prize was established by donors in 2013 to honour the late David Glassco, a long-time faculty member in the Department of English Literature and former principal of Champlain College. Professor Glassco’s contributions were not only felt in the classroom, but also in athletics, theatre, and music, both on campus and in the community. Valued at $1000, the prize recognizes a student who has demonstrated outstanding generosity of spirit in a range of activities outside the classroom, including music, athletics, or theatre, in the Trent and Peterborough communities. The David Glassco Prize underscores the Alumni Association’s high regard for student leadership contribution to the overall mission of Trent University.  2019 Glassco Nomination Form


Paul Delaney Award for Outstanding Young Philanthropist

The Paul Delaney award will recognize a student or a recent alumnus or alumna whose work sowing seeds of friendship and a spirit of philanthropy makes them an outstanding model for Trent students to emulate.  Ideally this individual’s leadership will reverberate across cultural, religious, generational and other boundaries.  The award is a lasting legacy to alumnus Paul Delaney ‘64, an extraordinary person who affected and affirmed the lives of people from across Canada and around the world.  It will also affirm the Trent University values of social responsibility and global citizenship, values to which Paul dedicated his life.  2019 Paul Delaney Nomination Form


 2018 Robert W.F. Stephenson Prize Recipients: 

Jeffery Temple

Jeffery Temple has worked hard to make the world– and Trent University – a more inclusive place.

He was co-chair of the Student Association in International Development (SAID) and worked tirelessly in organizing events such as faculty-student meet-and-greets, film nights, board game days, and sports events. However. His most far-reaching impact in the university community has been political, where his role has been essential and decisive.

In 2017, Mr. Temple was one of a handful of core members of the Make Trent Safe steering committee, established to raise awareness on campus and to promote a concerted response at the university to incidents of discrimination. Among their key activities were a presentation to the University senate, putting forward recommendations and requesting meaningful collaboration with administration, and meeting with President Leo Groarke and senior administrators.

Recently, Mr. Temple successfully persuaded senior Trent administration to join the Scholars at Risk initiative (SAR) – an international network of higher education institutions and individuals working to protect scholars and promote academic freedom. This involved leading over a dozen meetings with stakeholders across the university. His role in this initiative is remarkable as it is the first one in Canada to be led by an undergraduate student rather than a graduate student or faculty member.

Mary Carswell-Gates '14

With demonstrated leadership skills, Mary Carswell-Gates became chair of the Champlain College residence council during her first year, before moving on to positions as junior and senior senator at both the Champlain College Cabinet and the Trent University senate.

Alongside her work in governance, Ms. Carswell-Gates became an important role model for incoming students during her role as an orientation week leader – a position she held for two years.

While a student, Ms. Carswell-Gates also worked as an employee in the Marketing and Communications department at Trent. Among her other work as a team member for the department – and she was involved in countless aspects of University outreach – she is now known campus-wide for developing compelling and personal Instagram stories, helping to increase Trent’s reputation, and sharing the Trent experience with people around the world.


2018 David Glassco Prize Recipients: 


Lucas DeLuca 

Lucas DeLuca began his theatre career at Trent during his first year, starring in the Anne Shirley Theatre Company’s (ASTC) production of Legally Blonde: The Musical. Throughout his time with ASTC, Mr. DeLuca was featured in starring roles. Off stage, he assumed roles on the company executive as the coordinator of publicity and as the director of the musical Heathers. As a member of the executive, Mr. DeLuca was an active part of both a successful levy campaign and efforts that allowed ASTC to perform in a professional venue in downtown Peterborough.

For the past three summers, Mr. DeLuca has worked with the prominent 4th Line Theatre Company, first as an apprentice and now as a professional company member. He has ventured into business as a theatre producer, opening up his own theatre company, Amber Coast Theatrical, which has produced two plays to date.

Brandon Remmelgas '13

As a person with a disability, and a vocal advocate for the amputee community, he has shown commitment to ensuring a barrier-free academic and theatre experience.

Committed to student politics, Brandon Remmelgas is the current president of the TCSA. His tenure has seen him leading the Association through both the opening of the new Student Centre and the temporary closure of Bata Library. Not only was he a lead organizer for the Student Centre grand opening, but he was also Master of Ceremonies.

For the past four years, Mr. Remmelgas has volunteered with the Anne Shirley Theatre Company, taking on several prominent roles, including: president, treasurer, skit coordinator, and cast representative. During this period, he took part in prominent on-stage roles. He has also acted with Art for Awareness, the St. James Players, and Evil Tree Productions.

Previous Alumni Student Leadership Award Recipients