Skip to main content Skip to footer


Alumni Awards: Previous Recipients


Distinguished Alumni Award

Presented based on a person's achievement and leadership in their field. Recipients show leadership in business, industry, a profession or in public life. They have brought honour to Trent University through endeavors which have earned them prominence within their field.

Garry Cubitt ’67

Mr. Cubitt has worked with the Region of Durham since its formation, becoming Chief Administrative Officer in 1993. For more than 46 years he has served the public sector, beginning his career as a social worker.

With nearly 4,500 employees under his leadership, Mr. Cubitt’s guidance has been instrumental in meeting the increasing demands of a region that is growing exponentially. During his time as CAO, Durham Region has grown from 203,925 households with a population of 606,750 in 2008 to 224,810 households and a total population of 658,175 in 2017.

Among his volunteer efforts, Mr. Cubitt was the Founding Chair of the Board of University of Ontario Institute of Technology (UOIT), is former Chair of the Durham College Board of Governors, and currently sits on Trent University’s Board of Governors. Most recently, he was instrumental in helping develop the Trent University Alumni Association’s Strategic Directions Plan


Spirit of Trent Award

Presented to alumni who have made a difference, through contributions to the University, the alumni association or the community.

Caleb Smith '93

The driving force behind the Trent University Rugby Booster Club, Caleb Smith has helped raise a significant amount of financial support for the operation of the current rugby program. Mr. Smith was the chair of the hugely successful Trent Rugby 50th Anniversary event. He has also maintained a leadership role in Ontario rugby as a player, coach, convener, and member of the Ontario Rugby Union Board of Directors.

Mr. Smith was also a lead organizer for the Trent 50th Anniversary Athletics Reunion. He has been President of the Niagara Chapter of the Alumni Association for the past decade.

Robin Quantick '78

A member on Trent’s Board of Governors, Mr. Quantick has served on several prominent Board committees during his tenure, notably Nominating and Governance; Finance and Property; Investment and Pension; and Audit. He was also an integral member of both the Presidential Advisory Committee in 2013 and the Presidential Search Committee in 2014. Mr. Quantick is a long time active member of the Trent Alumni Association, including service on its Executive.

Away from Trent, Mr. Quantick has been recognized by the Frontenac Heritage Society for his work in heritage preservation in the Kingston area, notably in heritage building restoration. He has offered his consultancy services pro bono to the Big Brothers/Big Sisters movement.

Mr. Quantick helped found Project Beyshick, a youth mentoring program focused on business career development for Aboriginal Canadians aged 21 to 35 years. He continues to take an active role in the project.

Dr. Spencer J. Harrison '97

As an advocate for inclusion, support, and basic human rights for LGBTQ and marginalized communities, Dr. Harrison marries public activism with personal mentorship and guidance. Recently named the Ontario Director for Camp fYrefly (an arts-based resiliency building camp for LGBTQ youth and their Allies), he was instrumental in launching this first-of-its kind program in Ontario, which was held in July 2017 at Trent University's Symons Campus. 

With an extensive list of teaching positions, exhibitions, and residencies, Dr. Harrison’s passion for art and activism has touched thousands of lives. His impressive list of awards include: The Kenner Collegiate Wall of Honour; the OCAD University BLG Equity Teaching Award; the OCAD Non-Tenured Teaching Award; and the OISE/U of Toronto Artist-in-Residence, Education and Innovation Award.


Young Leader Award

Recognizes young alumni who have shown outstanding leadership throughout their first 10 years of alumni status either in their professional career and/or community, public or humanitarian service and are 35 years of age or younger.

Brianna Salmon '10

Best known in Peterborough as the Executive Director for GreenUP, Brianna Salmon has been instrumental in either creating or helping grow programs such as B!KE: The Peterborough Cycling Hub, the Peterborough Pulse festival, and the Active Neighbourhoods Canada Peterborough Project.

Most recently, Ms. Salmon has been a key driver behind a multi-sector coordinating committee’s application to have the Peterborough-Kawartha-Haliburton region recognized as a UNESCO Regional Centre of Excellence in Sustainability Education.

Bob Gauvreau '01

As a chartered accountant, entrepreneur, and business leader, Mr. Gauvreau has been recognized with numerous awards, including the 2010 Chamber of Commerce Business Excellence Award for Entrepreneurship; the Reader’s Choice Peterborough’s Favorite Accountant in both 2011 and 2012; the Greater Peterborough Chamber of Commerce Top 4 under 40 business leader; the 2017 Peterborough This Week Reader’s Choice Diamond Award Winner for Accountant and Platinum Award Winner in the category of Accounting Firm; and in 2016 was named Canada’s only Affiliate of Tony Robbin’s Business Advisory team.

Mr. Gauvreau’s volunteer efforts include work with the Accounting program at Fleming College and a role as founding member of the H.O.P.E. Foundation. He is a founding member of Venture North business incubation program.

For a full list of Alumni Award recipients, please click here.